To the students who took our initial class on Hamburg, and especially to those eleven whose passion for the language and culture and whose intellectual curiosity brought them to Hamburg, we extend a very special word of thanks. Martin Amesquita, Chad Carter, Brenna Ledvora, Cosima Lenz, Shyam Anand, Sam Douglas, Zachary Elvove, Marko Jukic, Anna Livadaru, Ben Meline, and Gabriel Wernick, you inspired us with your boundless energy, your courage, your pioneering spirit, and your hard work. Your projects are a testament to what can be accomplished through collaboration, sharing, and new ways of learning and engaging.

We would like to acknowledge the very generous financial and in-kind support of the following groups at the University of Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany, in New York, NY, and at Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA.

  • The University of Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
    • Frau Professor Ortrud Gutjahr, Neuere deutsche Literatur und Interkulturelle Literaturwissenschaft, Institut für Germanistik
    • Frau Julia Twesten, Sekretariat von Professor Ortrud Gutjahr
    • Frau Dagmar Schröder-Huse, Abteilung Internationales
    • Frau Kerstin Bartling, Internationale Hochschulpartnerschaften
    • Frau Courtney Peltzer-Hönicke, Abteilung Internationales
    • Herr Gerhard Müller, Abteilung Internationales
    • Herr Eckart Krause, Arbeitsstelle für Universitätsgeschichte
    • Herr Derek Fobaire
  • The Max Kade Foundation, Inc., New York, NY, USA
  • Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA
    • The Academic Year Undergraduate Research Grant (URG), Office of Undergraduate Research
    • The Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences
      • Weinberg Academic Year Grants
      • The Multi Media Learning Center
      • The Department of German
    • The McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science
      • The Sara Boley Fund

The conclusions, opinions, and other statements in this web project are the authors’ and do not necessarily represent the opinions of the sponsoring institutions.

Peter Brandes, DAAD Visiting Professor, Department of German
Franziska Lys, Professor, Department of German
Northwestern University